Top ten fastest-charging EVs in Canada
- data
- charging
On a long drive, the number that matters for modern EVs (larger batteries) is not how far a car goes on a full battery. It is how long you stand beside a charger before you can go again. Long stops add up over a long drive: a car that needs well over an hour for a 20 to 80 percent charge is a poor fit for road trips, and one that needs about 20 minutes suits them well.
To help you research which EV is right for you we ranked current models by the most DC fast-charge power each one accepts (its peak, in kilowatts). We used the 2025 and 2026 model years. Each model appears once, with the trim that charges fastest. Ties on peak power are broken by the shorter 20 to 80 percent time, then by longer range.
| # | Vehicle | Trim | Peak DC | 20 to 80% | Battery | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 2026 Porsche Cayenne Electric | Coupe (Range Setup) | 400 kW | not published | 108 kWh | 546 km (standard not stated) |
| 2 | 2025 GMC Sierra EV | Denali | 350 kW | 10 min * | 170 kWh | 644 km (EPA) |
| 3 | 2025 Hyundai IONIQ 6 | Preferred Long Range RWD | 350 kW | 18 min | 77.4 kWh | 581 km (NRCan) |
| 4 | 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5 | Long Range AWD (20" Wheels) | 350 kW | 18 min | 84 kWh | 425 km (standard not stated) |
| 5 | 2026 Genesis GV60 | Performance AWD | 350 kW | 18 min | 77.4 kWh | 406 km (standard not stated) |
| 6 | 2026 Genesis GV70 | Electrified | 350 kW | 18 min | 77.4 kWh | 402 km (NRCan) |
| 7 | 2026 Chevrolet Silverado EV | WT Max Range | 350 kW | 20 min * | 215 kWh | 793 km (EPA) |
| 8 | 2026 Lotus Eletre | S Long Range | 350 kW | 20 min | 112 kWh | 467 km (WLTP) |
| 9 | 2025 Jeep Wagoneer S | AWD (Falken Tire) | 350 kW | 23 min | 100.5 kWh | 473 km (NRCan) |
| 10 | 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 9 | Base | 350 kW | 24 min | 110.3 kWh | 539 km (NRCan) |
All figures are the manufacturer numbers as we have them on record. * For the two starred rows, the recorded stop time is shorter than the battery size and peak power would suggest: 60 percent of the Sierra EV's 170 kWh is 102 kWh, about 17 minutes at a steady 350 kW, and 60 percent of the Silverado EV's 215 kWh is 129 kWh, about 22 minutes. Real charging does not hold the peak the whole way, so treat those two times as indicative until they are confirmed. The Cayenne Electric tops the list on peak power, but a 20 to 80 percent time is not published for it, so its real-world stop is not something we can show.
Ranges come from different rating standards. NRCan, EPA and WLTP use different test cycles, so compare them across rows only as a rough guide. Where a record does not state its standard, we say “standard not stated”.
Why peak kilowatts can mislead
Peak power is the highest rate a car will ever accept, usually when the battery is fairly empty. As the battery fills, the car asks the charger for less and less. That is why the time for a 20 to 80 percent stop, not the headline kilowatts, is the better guide. Two cars with the same peak can take different times.
Electrical design plays a part too. Several cars near the top of the list use higher-voltage (800 V class) electrical systems, which manufacturers say help them sustain fast charging. A car's peak is also only available if the charger can deliver it. Chargers rated at 350 kW exist in Canada, but a stall rated lower will charge the car at that lower rate. Before a trip, check the rating of the chargers on your route, not just the car's. Cold weather generally slows charging too, so a winter stop can run longer than the table suggests.
A road-trip example
Say you stop when the battery reads 20 percent and leave at 80. That adds 60 percent of the car's rated range, or 0.6 times its range, and the table gives the minutes. Here is the same arithmetic for a car from this list and one from the other end of our database.
- The 2025 Hyundai IONIQ 6 is rated at 581 km (NRCan). 0.6 x 581 = about 349 km added, in 18 minutes.
- The 2025 Subaru Solterra AWD is rated at 367 km (NRCan) and accepts a peak of 100 kW. 0.6 x 367 = about 220 km added, and our record puts that 20 to 80 percent stop at 56 minutes.
For a 1,000 km day, the IONIQ 6 needs roughly three stops of 18 minutes, about
an hour in total. The Solterra adds about 220 km per stop, so you would plan
around five stops of 56 minutes, close to five hours beside a charger. These
are rough counts: they ignore starting with a full battery, the weather and
the charger you actually find. Neither car is a bad choice;
shorter-range car with a slower stop is a fine fit if most of your driving is
around town. But if road trips are the plan, the 20 to 80 percent time is the
number to watch, more than the headline kilowatts.
About this list
Ranking by peak kilowatts is a stated, reproducible measure, not a verdict on quality. Other models also accept 350 kW and sit just outside the top ten. Want to look up your own shortlist? Browse the full vehicle list on EVpedia and compare models side by side.